Facebook Twitter Tumblr Close Skip to main content
A Project of The Annenberg Public Policy Center

May 30, 2009

The National Hockey League’s Stanley Cup championship trophy is named for Frederick Arthur Stanley, who was the sixth governor-general of Canada, appointed by England’s Queen Victoria in 1888.

Source: National Hockey League